Silicon Valley Engineering Council
Member Organizations     Officers     Engineers Week Banquet     Hall of Fame     Meetings     Discover “E”     News
Main     Education Outreach     Tech Events     Join SVEC     Sponsor SVEC     Join Our Mailing List     Mission
Contact Us     Journal     History     SVEC brochere (page 1)     SVEC brochere (page 2)

Thanks to Our Sponsors

Lockheed Martin logo
Kumar Malavalli VKRM corp. logo
SJSU Tower Foundation logo
Richard Elkus IEEE Santa Clara Valley Section logo
IEEE Oakland East Bay Section logo
David Lam Multibeam corp. logo
Ozen Engineering logo

SVEC Open House Reception, Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Here are presentations (PDF) by our speakers during Open House:

Download Mahmood Khan’s presentation “Future of IOT (Internet of Things)”

Download Learning for Life Engineers in Aerospace Post (LEAP) presented by Amy Bhatia, Hanna Mengo, and John Kowalchik.

SVEC wants to thank all that attended our our complimentary Annual Open House event, an evening of exciting information and engineering camaraderie.


Google (TC6-1-Comic Con)
815 11th Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Google Maps of location
or Map to Google (TC6-1-Comic Con)

Welcome Reception: 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Presentations: 7:00pm - 8:30pm


• Welcoming Remarks
• Keynote Speaker: Mahmood Khan, MBA, PMP, BSc
     “Future of IOT (Internet of Things): Industrialize and Automate Everything”
• Report from John J. Kowalchik, VP, Lockheed Martin Space Systems
     “Boy Scouts Engineering Explorer Post at Lockheed”
• Acknowledgement of Sponsors
• SVEC Discover “E” Outreach
• Call for Applications for 2016 Scholarships
• 2016 Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame Inductees Announcement
• SVEC Engineers Week Banquet, February 2016

Bio of Speaker:

Mahmood Khan has over 18 years of experience in transforming business IT to generate new top line growth, reduce operation costs and improve profit margins. He has held leadership positions at CSC, HP/EDS, IBM-GS as a Client Principal, Practice Director, Solution Architect, and Program/Project Manager. He is a co-founder of G-ESI, a IT Professional Services and training company. Mahmood is passionate about education and skills training to improving people’s careers and life. He has taught software program development and programming language skills development courses at Berkeley, Santa Cruz Universities and at special events. He is a Board member at San Jose Conservation Corps and Charter School.

From John Kowalchik:

Lockheed Martin in conjunction with the Boy Scouts of America (Learning for Life) operates an Engineering Explorer Post here at our Sunnyvale facility. This year we had about 50 future engineers and scientists in the program, and we’ve seen one of our past graduates return as a summer intern this year! We’d like the opportunity to talk about the program in order to encourage other Bay Area companies to consider Exploring as a potential STEM activity. The BSA makes all the logistics very easy and we simply administer the program via our staff engineering folks. It turns out that we’re the one and only Engineering Explorer Post in the entire Silicon Valley Monterey Bay area. We’d like to see more.

The Silicon Valley Engineering Council, the alliance for engineering leaders in the Silicon Valley, serves as a collective focus to support your professional engineering organization and to serve the needs of your membership and the engineering education community in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Calendar of the SVEC for 2015–2016

Nov 17, 2015 SVEC Open House

Jan 27, 2016 SVEC Full Council meeting
Feb 21-27, 2016 National Engineers Week (E-Week)
Feb (TBD), 2016 SVEC E-Week banquet
Mar 31-Apr 2, 2016 FIRST Robotics Silicon Valley Regional Competition (need volunteers)
Apr 27, 2016 SVEC Full Council meeting
May 21-22, 2016 MakerFaire San Mateo (SVEC booth)
June 22, 2016 SVEC Full Council meeting (election)

Board of Directors for 2015–2016

Elise Engelhardt (ASME), President
Yashesh Shroff, Ph.D. (IEEE-CPMT), Vice President
Tiffany Tsao (SWE), Secretary
Metin Ozen, Ph.D. (ASME Fellow), Treasurer
Guy Dellavecchia (SME), Director
Laura Fechete, P.E. (SWE), Director
Edward Kaminski, P.E. (ASMI), Director
Rajiv Mathur (IEEE-CS), Director
Michael Wright, P.E. (IEEE), Past President